Trends in net land-atmosphere carbon exchange over the period 1980-2010

Contact: Stephen Sitch (s.a.sitch@exeter.ac.uk) and Pierre Friedlingstein (p.friedlingstein@exeter.ac.uk)

PARTICIPATING MODELS
Hyland, JULES, LPJ, LPJ-GUESS, NCAR-CLM4, ORCHIDEE, OCN, SDVGM, VEGAS

MODEL SIMULATIONS
Models can have dynamic vegetation but all will use observed cropland and pasture distribution S2 and S3 (supplied). The models will be forced over the 1860-2010 period with changing CO2, climate and land use according to the following simulations.

S1: CO2 only (time-invariant present-day land use mask)
S2: CO2 and climate (time-invariant present-day land use mask)
S3 (optional): CO2, climate and land use

DRIVING DATA
• Climate forcing: CRU+NCEP historical forcing (1901-2010).
Spatial resolution: 0.5°x0.5°, time resolution: 6hours (or degraded)
• Global atmospheric CO2 annual resolution (1860-2010) (see attached)
• Land use change from the Hyde database or Hurtt et al. (1860-2005).
Spatial resolution: 0.5°x0.5°, annual resolution (1860-2005).

CRU-NCEPv4 was kindly provided and maintained by Nicolas Viovy (nicolas.viovy@lsce.ipsl.fr) and can be accessed from:

http://dods.extra.cea.fr/data/p529viov/cruncep/

The coarse resolution (3.75 x 2.5) climatologies area available from this website (see attached files)

DGVM OUTPUT DATA POLICY
Our main objective is to make all Trendy Data freely available to the wider scientific community once the main study has been published in a peer-review article. In the meantime, the Trendy Data must be considered provisional, and subject to change. Trendy data will be made available in preliminary form to Trendy investigators, and associates (on a case-by-case basis) to enable quality assurance through preliminary analysis and intercomparison with other data sets. Corrections and refinements to data products will be made as the analysis proceeds. Revisions will be noted, and investigators and the Trendy data system will maintain version control. For RECCAP investigators we would kindly ask that if results from individual models are presented in the RECCAP papers (i.e. beyond results presented as statistics across the DGVM ensemble), then the modelling group in question should be given access to the manuscript before submission. For further details, please see attached Data Use Policy.

CONTACT DETAILS:
TRIFFID/JULES Stephen Sitch (S.A.Sitch@exeter.ac.uk), Chris Huntingford (chg@ceh.ac.uk)
LPJ Ben Poulter (benjamin.poulter@lsce.ipsl.fr)
LPJ-GUESS Anders Ahlström (anders.ahlstrom@nateko.lu.se)
SDGVM Mark Lomas (m.r.lomas@sheffield.ac.uk)
Hyland Peter Levy (plevy@ceh.ac.uk)
NCAR-CLM4 Sam Levis (slevis@ucar.edu)
OCN Sönke Zaehle (soenke.zaehle@bgc-jena.mpg.de)
Orchidee Nicolas Viovy (nicolas.viovy@lsce.ipsl.fr)
Vegas Ning Zeng (zeng@atmos.umd.edu)

DGVM OUTPUT (version 1)
Raw DGVM output is available from:

http://www-lscedods.cea.fr/invsat/RECCAP/

This website is kindly provided and maintained by Frederic Chevallier (Frederic.Chevallier@lsce.ipsl.fr)

An incomplete list of variables has been reformatted by Philippe Peylin (peylin@lsce.ipsl.fr) onto a common 1 deg grid. Philippe is willing to share this, however the data is not fully verified. Therefore, Philippe requests to be informed if this data is used and promptly if any mistakes are found.

The processed 3-D fields are available on:
http://www-lscedods.cea.fr/invsat/PEYLIN/TRENDY/3D_FIELD/

and the regional totals (Transcom Regions):

http://www-lscedods.cea.fr/invsat/PEYLIN/TRENDY/REG_TOTAL/